Thursday, October 29, 2009

Why don’t I see an option to delete my Site Content Type?

If you have created a Content Type in your Site Content Type Gallery and now you want to Delete it, but SharePoint is not presenting you with the Delete option when you click on the Content Type’s name in your Site Content Type Gallery, don’t worry.  You probably just set your Content Type to be “read only.”  AlamoFrontTopStraightOn_100dpi

If so, trust me, this is not a tough spot to get out of.

Once you change that Read-Only setting, the Delete option will appear for you again, and deletion is simple as long as the Content Type has not been instantiated anywhere.  (If you’ve used the Content Type already to create documents, check out Tyler Holmes’ blog post for some advice on how to take care of it)

To change the setting, do the following:

  1. Go to the Site at which the Site Gallery exists.   You must have sufficient privileges to administer the site.
  2. Click Site Actions.
  3. Click Site Settings.
  4. Under Galleries, click Site Content Types
  5. Find your Content Type in the list, and click on its name.
  6. Note that the page header reads:

    Site Content Type Advanced Settings: Delete This Content Type (Read Only)

  7. Click the “Advanced Settings” link.
  8. In the field labeled, “Should this content type be read only?” change the selection to “No”.
  9. A pop-up may appear, indicating “This type has been marked as read only.  If you choose to modify this type, existing solutions such as client property editors or custom workflow solutions may stop working.  Are you sure you want to mark this type as modifiable?” 

    At this point, you may want to take a moment to consider whether this consequence is really a concern, or whether you just created your Content Type when or where you shouldn’t have and just want to wipe it out before anyone uses it. 

    I’m assuming the latter is true in this case.
  10. Click “OK” to get past the pop up.
  11. Presumably, you are not worried about the remaining question “Update all content types inheriting from this type?” since you already clicked “OK” above.  If you’re concerned, check Tyler’s blog (see above).
  12. Click “OK” on the page.
  13. When the page refreshes, you now have, under Settings, an option to “Delete this site content type" Click it.
  14. A pop will appear to confirm that you have stopped and thought about the consequences of your actions.  It reads, “Are you sure you want to delete this site content type?” Click “OK” if your mind is free of fear and paranoia.
  15. When the Site Content Type Gallery reappears, your Content Type is gone.

See?  Easy.

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think?